Abandonment Revisited

Yesterday as I was drinking an iced coffee (summer drink of choice when it’s typically around 80 degrees in my house) and reading St. Faustina’s Diary I came across this passage: ” I do not fear at all being abandoned by creatures because, even if all abandoned me, I would not be alone, for the Lord is with me” (#1022).

Later in the day, I was reading The Word Among Us, a disposable missalette that I “borrowed” from the chapel on base. There are daily meditations based upon one of the readings for the Mass. This one in particular was based upon Matthew 10. 26 when Jesus tells His disciples not to be afraid. The meditation suggests when we are fearful, we need to remember. Remember the cross and resurrection, the Father’s love and protection, the Holy Spirit dwelling within. And then “Remember that you belong to Christ and he will never abandon you.

God speaks. Repeatedly. If only we will listen.

Ps. 62.11 “Once you have spoken, twice I have heard you.”

Leave a Reply

