First Day of School and A Mother’s Education

IMG_0100_2

A shot from our first day of school. I am still working on lesson planning and we still don’t have all our books, but we jumped right in. At least for today, we moved up to the giant table in the dining room. It seemed to work well. First day of school music was courtesy of Aradhna, their live concert album.

Since the children are beginning a new school year, I decided, at the prompting of the Scholé Sisters and Sarah at AmongstLovelyThings, to create a loose syllabus for my own education. Here is what it looks like. I am not expecting to get through all of these books this school year. It’s just to keep me on track and keep me growing as a mother, a teacher, a woman!

Education
A Well Educated Mind (in progress)
Poetic Knowledge
Beauty in the Word
Towards a Philosophy of Education
I Thought It Was Just Me
Daring Greatly (again–it’s that good)
Gifts of Imperfect Parenting
Teaching from Rest

Classics/Poetry
Kristin Lavransdattar
Don Quixote
Sonnets from the Portuguese
Brothers Karamazov
Anna Kamienska Astonishments
Czesław Miłosz

For Fun
The Tale of Holly How
Margaret Frazer

Spiritual Reading
Into Your Hands, Father
St. Faustina’s Diary
Edith Stein Essays on Woman
Something Other than God
The Romance of Religion
Deep Calls to Deep
Praying the Name of Jesus
My Peace I Give You

Creativity (not books, per se, but areas I would like to improve/learn)
Spenserian penmanship (in progress)
embroidery
knitting
make French pastry (I made puff pastry! 9/5)

History/Science (I’m a little light on this area. Suggestions?)
Astronomy app (learn constellations, major stars)

Here’s hoping for a restful, beautiful school year for both the children and me.

2 thoughts on “First Day of School and A Mother’s Education

  1. When you read Don Quixote let me know. It’s been on my “to read” list since I read parts of it in college and I’ve never gotten back to it. Perhaps we can have our own mini-book club

Leave a Reply

