Domine, non sum dignus

IMG_0102

Domine, non sum dignus, ut intres sub tectum meum, sed tantum dic verbo et sanabitur anima mea.
Lord, I am not worthy that thou shouldst enter under my roof, but only say the word and my soul shall be healed.

Last Sunday, the Little Soldier got to say these words right before he received Our Lord for the first time. It was an intensely happy moment for my husband and me, but also bittersweet. He’s the last of our children to make his First Holy Communion. In plainer language, we have no more little ones. Nor does it look likely that we shall have more, unless God provides a miracle. Don’t get me wrong. I have four amazingly beautiful, healthy children and I am forever grateful for that gift. But it does make my mother’s heart ache to think that my days of nursing and cuddling a baby are probably gone forever. I thank God for my children, for the gift of life, for the gift of Himself and that the whole family can now share in the joy of receiving His Life into ourselves.

One thought on “Domine, non sum dignus

Leave a Reply

