A tasty feast day

Yesterday was the feast of St. Bruno, founder of the Carthusians. This order “is the only old religious order in the Church which never had any reform and has never stood in need of any” and “has been regarded by the Church as the most perfect model of a penitential and contemplative state” (Butler’s: Complete v. IV). To celebrate this great day, we had a French food celebration with two friends. The menu: boeuf bourguignon (a la Julia Child), mashed potatoes, roasted green beans, green salad (because we didn’t have enough green beans), homemade bread, and the pièce de résistance, bittersweet chocolate tart.

The boeuf was an all day affair, but my favorite part of it was watching the YouTube clip of Julia’s very first show and following along with her. The two and a half glasses of wine I drank while cooking wasn’t bad either.

IMG_0009 IMG_0010

Here is a picture of my bowl of beef:

IMG_0446
Ok, it’s not the best picture and I took it as an afterthought after eating half of it. The rest of the diners ate their stew over mashed potatoes. I don’t like potatoes. Eww.

The only other picture I took was of the chocolate tart. Voilà.

IMG_0447
It was so rich I could not finish it.

And because it was the feast day of St. Bruno, the day would have been incomplete with a shot of Chartreuse. Of which I had just a sip, because by this time, I was toast.

Dinner aftermath:
IMG_0449 IMG_0450

A lovely feast day, and I didn’t even mind all the dishes.

And just because I haven’t posted food photos in awhile:
IMG_0398
Lavender vanilla honey cupcakes. Yes. They were incredibly amazing.

IMG_0038
And welcome home dinner for Dear Husband: Grilled steak and radishes with black pepper butter. Oh. My. Word.

 

Leave a Reply

