The good life

IMG_0797

There is something about a fireplace that is so relaxing, so conducive to contemplation and reflection. I thank God for the cooler days, for the winter days that are right around the corner, and for the gift of fire.

“For our God is a consuming fire” (Heb. 12.29).

“…who makest the winds thy messengers, fire and flame thy ministers” (Ps. 104.4).

“Is not my word like fire, says the Lord” (Jer. 23.29).

“And the Lord went before them by day in a pillar of cloud to lead them along the way, and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light” (Ex. 13.21).

2 thoughts on “The good life

  1. They asked each other, “Were not our hearts burning within us while he talked with us on the road and opened the Scriptures to us?” Lk 24:32

    Made me think of this verse too…love autumn and fires in the fireplace! Thank you!

    • And that makes me think of “If I say, ‘I will not mention him, or speak any more in his name,’ there is in my heart as it were a burning fire shut up in my bones, and I am weary with holding it in and I cannot.” Jer. 20.9.

Leave a Reply

