My prayer for 2015

During my lectio divina time I am working through Ephesians. It’s a rich book, thought-provoking. And I’m only on chapter 2. One section has particularly stuck with me for a few days, however, and that is the prayer that St. Paul says he prays for the Ephesians. He says,

“I do not cease to give thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers, that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him, having the eyes of your hearts enlightened, that you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power in us who believe…” (1. 16-19).

This will be my guiding text and prayer for 2015.

I pray, O my God, that you will give me a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of You. Enlighten the eyes of my heart. Grant that I may know the hope to which You have called me (eternal life, a place in the communion of saints, sanctification); the riches of Your glorious inheritance with the saints (the beauties of heaven, the joy of seeing you face to face); and the immeasurable greatness of Your power in me. Your grace is sufficient for me, for I know that Your power is made perfect in my weakness (2. Cor. 12.9). Thank you for my weaknesses. Use them to Your glory. Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “My prayer for 2015

Leave a Reply

