Confused

“Be angry but do not sin…”(Eph. 4.26).

Is anyone else confused by this? I understand that anger is an emotion and therefore not sinful in and of itself. It’s the action in response to the feeling that can be sin. And there is righteous anger and non-righteous anger. I’m pretty sure that 99% of the time, my anger is non-righteous. That is, it comes from me not getting my way because someone impeded my will or needs me to bend to his/her will. I can think of very few instances where my anger was righteous.

So how to deal with non-righteous anger? It cannot be stifled, pushed down, buried because then, like a volcano, it will come spewing out once enough pressure has built up and injure those closest to the blast.

What do I do? How can I be angry and not sin?

volcano

Leave a Reply

