Many Gifts

Today’s responsorial psalm is from Psalm 66. In it is a verse that has always made me pause in consternation. “Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell you what he has done for me” (v. 16). I should be telling others what God has done in my life. Probably partly because of our American mindset of religion and faith being a “personal” individualistic affair and partly because of my introverted nature, I don’t do this. At all.

So this is my opportunity to “tell what he has done for me.” He has given me a husband who adores/cherishes/protects me, children who are a delight to me, extended family who love me, a lovely home, plenty of food and material goods. He’s given me the Catholic Church to mother me and lead me on my path to heaven. He’s given me friends I can depend on to laugh and cry with me. He’s given me health and strength. He’s given me the opportunity to be home with my children and educate them. He’s given me his Word, his love letter that I can open any time I want. He’s given me His very Self in the Holy Eucharist. He’s given me a love for my vocation to marriage and family life, a love that took many years for me to accept. I have been given more than I deserve. My God, I thank you for all you have given me. It is yours, and should you decide to take away what you have given, may you give me the grace, like holy Job, to say, “The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord” (1.21).

One thought on “Many Gifts

  1. Beautiful!!! Isn’t it true that when we start to look for the blessings we have received, we find so many more than we otherwise acknowledged?

Leave a Reply

