Advent day 7

Whoops. Missed day 6. First Friday, co-op, running 8 miles and a hockey game.

I love the daily mass readings in advent because they are from Isaiah. Prophecy is a beautiful genre, especially if it has been fulfilled and you can read it with understanding. In today’s passage I read, “And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, ‘This is the way, walk in it,’ when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left” (30.21).

Just a week ago, my husband and I were talking to a priest about some vague remarks our Holy Father has made in his pontificate. What a scary thing it is not to have clear direction. This verse brought me great comfort because if I stop to ask and to listen, I’ll hear that word whispering to me, “This is the way.”

My Lord, help me to quiet myself and hear Your voice.

 

Leave a Reply

